This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Uruguay

Uruguay is made up of 19 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Uruguay. Information on all primary administrative regions in Uruguay.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Uruguay alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Uruguay

There are 19 regions in Uruguay in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Uruguay
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Artigas Departamento de Artigas1.78,391Artigas Artigas41,909
Canelones Departamento de Canelones2.490,595Canelones Canelones19,698
Cerro Largo Departamento de Cerro Largo3.87,019Melo Melo51,023
Colonia Departamento de Colonia4.119,249Colonia del Sacramento Colonia del Sacramento21,714
Durazno Departamento de Durazno5.59,176Durazno Durazno33,926
Flores Departamento de Flores6.25,109Trinidad Trinidad21,429
Florida Departamento de Florida7.68,334Florida Florida32,234
Lavalleja Departamento de Lavalleja8.60,889Minas Minas38,025
Maldonado Departamento de Maldonado9.142,086Maldonado Maldonado55,478
Montevideo Departamento de Montevideo10.1,324,115Montevideo Montevideo1,270,737
Paysandu Departamento de Paysandú11.113,506Paysandu Paysandú73,249
Rio Negro Departamento de Río Negro12.54,255Fray Bentos Fray Bentos23,279
Rivera Departamento de Rivera13.105,701Rivera Rivera64,631
Rocha Departamento de Rocha14.69,938Rocha Rocha25,515
Salto Departamento de Salto15.123,793Salto Salto99,823
San Jose Departamento de San José16.103,848San Jose de Mayo San José de Mayo36,529
Soriano Departamento de Soriano17.84,879Mercedes Mercedes42,359
Tacuarembo Departamento de Tacuarembó18.91,062Tacuarembo Tacuarembó51,854
Treinta y Tres Departamento de Treinta y Tres19.49,324Treinta y Tres Treinta y Tres25,653